Hell Yeah! I can shake a leg..!!

 

me

I recently went to a pub/disc (Thanks to my sweet husband ‘K’!!) and I had the time of my life. All the inhibitions I ever had about myself, my appearance were shed in the red-green-yellow light of the disc. I have always been on the heavier side appearance-wise, and right now would be the worst shape I have ever been in. But that dint stop me from having fun. Yes, people were watching and probably some were even commenting on how funny I looked on the dance floor, but none of that mattered to me, not at that point of time, and definitely not now. My reaction to all of them would be ‘Hell yeah. I can shake a leg!!’.

I have got some very lovely people around me, who have made me feel comfortable in my own skin. I have gained my confidence back and truly, I don’t give a damn of what other people might think of me anymore. I am happy about myself.

I was skeptic about going to a disc as I dint wanted to be out of place in the crowd there. But after a while with my kind of music (which basically is any kind of music 😛 ) things just started flowing. We just danced the night away. I had so much fun dancing, all credit to cheesy Bollywood numbers. My clumsy imitation of Bollywood jhatkas dint seems so bad after all. My lovely sister-in-law ‘L’ made it so much easier on me… Love ya L…

Well I guess what I am trying to say is there are events that may seem ordinary or not worthy of your attention but for someone else they might have a deeper and greater effect. This particular event has made me feel connected to L in a different level. I guess am more closer to her now. And my husband has finally seen the fun side of me :)…

When you have people who love and care for you by your side, anything and everything seems plausible. You have the confidence to go that extra mile to get a smile on their faces. There need not be a huge intervention from an external force to make you realize your worth. Any small gesture, maybe in the daily chores may give the nudge you need to come out of your cocoon and flap your wings and fly.

I have been blessed to have a great support system, in terms of my family and friends. But for people who think they lack in this area, my only advise will be to make the most of what you have. Identify those small small things that you can relate to and use them to nourish your confidence. Don’t kneel into the little setbacks you may face. Nurture the love and warmth you feel around you in whatever form it may be there.

Love your life ( it may be cliche but its true).

Leave a Reply

